Postmaster Non-Executive Directors announced

Postmaster Non-Executive Directors announced

This morning, Post Office Chief Executive Nick Read emailed all Postmasters registered to One website to announce the two serving Postmasters who have been elected and appointed to join the Post Office Board.

Saf Ismail who operates six post offices (five in Lancashire – Blackpool Road, Bolton, Heywood, New Hall Lane, Plungington Road) and Farnworth, Greater Manchester; and Elliot Jacobs who operates seven post offices (five in London – Camden, Crouch End, East Finchley, Muswell Hill, Stoke Newington) and Hertford and Potters Bar in Hertfordshire received the most votes.


Over 1,000 votes were cast by Postmasters and strategic partners during the three-week election period. The other four serving Postmasters that contested the election were Lee Dearn, Mukhtar Goraya, Jasbir Parmar and Sarabjeet Soar.

CEO Nick said: Thank you also to all six candidates for a fantastic election campaign. Each had clear views about the challenges of running a Post Office and what needs to change to enable them to operate successfully which is encouraging as we develop new ways of engaging with you. Having two serving Postmasters on our Board will help ensure our strategic direction is grounded in the reality of their experience.


Paul Scully MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS) said:

“Postmasters are at the very heart of the Post Office and should rightly have a strong voice at the very highest level in the organisation.

“Saf Ismail and Elliot Jacobs will bring a wealth of knowledge and experience as postmasters to the Post Office board, and their insight will be invaluable as the Post Office seeks to reset its relationship with Postmasters.”

Saf and Elliott will now benefit from an induction and training programme, covering the corporate and legal aspects of fulfilling the duties of a Non-Executive Director. They will join their first Board meeting in June.